## 13th "Paolo Farinella" Prize, 2023

To honor the memory and the outstanding figure of Paolo Farinella (1953-2000), an extraordinary scientist and person, a prize has been established in recognition of significant contributions in the fields of interest of Paolo, which spanned from planetary sciences to space geodesy, fundamental physics, science popularization, security in space, weapon control and disarmament.

The prize has been proposed during the "International Workshop on Paolo Farinella, the scientist and the man", held in Pisa in 2010.

Previous recipients of the "Paolo Farinella Prize" were:

- 2011: William F. Bottke, for his contribution to the field of "*Physics and dynamics of small solar system bodies*"
- 2012: John Chambers, for his contribution to the field of "Formation and early evolution of the solar system"
- 2013: Patrick Michel, for his contribution to the field of " Collisional processes in the Solar System"
- 2014: David Vokrouhlicky, for his contribution to the field of "Non gravitational forces in the Solar System"
- 2015: Nicolas Biver, for his contribution to the field of "Dynamics and physics of comets"
- 2016: Kleomenis Tsiganis, for his contribution to the field of "Applications of celestial mechanics to the natural bodies of our solar system"
- 2017: Simone Marchi, for his contribution to the field of "Physics and dynamics of the inner planets of the solar system and their satellites"
- 2018: Francis Nimmo, for his contribution to the field of "Giant planets satellite systems"
- 2019: Scott Sheppard and Chad Trujillo, jointly, for their contribution to the field of "The Trans-Neptunian Population"
- 2020: Heather Knutson and Jonathan Fortney, jointly, for their contribution to the field of "Structure, Physics and Dynamics of Giant Planets".
- 2021: Diana Valencia and Lena Loack, jointly, for their contribution to the field of "Terrestrial Planets and Super-Earths".
- 2022: Julie Castillo-Rogez and Martin Jutzi for their contribution to the field of "Asteroids: Physics, Dynamics, Modelling and Observations

The 13<sup>th</sup> Paolo Farinella Prize will be awarded to a young scientist with outstanding contributions in the field of planetary science concerning "**From superbolides to meteorites: physics and dynamics of small planetary impactors**" hence including also the study of meteor showers and of the cratering events on the solid bodies of the solar system: theoretical, modelling, experimental and observational work. The award winner will be honored during the Europlanet Science Congress (EPSC) 2023 in San Antonio (Texas, USA).

For the 13<sup>th</sup> "Paolo Farinella" Prize the terms and rules are as follows:

- 1. A competition is announced to award the "Paolo Farinella" Prize for the year 2023. The prize consists of a plate, a certificate and the amount of 1500 €. The winner is expected to give a Prize lecture during EPSC 2023.
- The winner will be selected on the basis of his/her overall research results in the field of
  "From superbolides to meteorites: physics and dynamics of small planetary impactors" –
  hence including also the study of meteor showers and of the cratering events on the solid bodies of
  the solar system.
- 3. Nominations must be sent by email not later than May 1st to the following addresses: ettore.perozzi@asi.it, mario.dimartino@inaf.it, acb@ua.es and david.lucchesi@inaf.it, using the form downloadable from the following link: <a href="https://www.europlanet-society.org/call-farinella-2023/">https://www.europlanet-society.org/call-farinella-2023/</a>.
- 4. The nominations for the "Paolo Farinella" Prize can be made by any researcher that works in the field of planetary sciences following the indications in the attached form. Self-nominations are acceptable.

The candidates should have international and interdisciplinary collaborations and should be not older than the age of Paolo when he passed away, 47 years, as of May 1st, 2023.

- 5. The winner of the prize will be selected before June 20 by the "Paolo Farinella" Prize Committee composed of outstanding scientists in planetary sciences, with specific experience in the field.
- 6. The Prize Committee will consider all the nominations, but it will be entitled to autonomously consider other candidates.